Sunday, July 27, 2008

National Pencak Silat Championship

Once again this year, the National Pencak Silat Championship is held in conjunction with His Majesty the Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam's 62nd birthday celebration.

Persib Cawangan Belait had sent a strong contingent of 25 pesilats' representing the whole Daerah Belait that took place at the Hassanal Bolkiah Indoor stadium in Berakas.

The one week event which started from 16th of July had attracted more than ten silat association from the country to compete and win in this prestige championship.

The pesilats from Daerah Belait had won ten gold, four silver and twelve bronze medals from various categories. From the highest number collection of medals, Belait district would had easily won as the overall champion.

However, ABDB (Royal Brunei Armed Force) who won seven gold, five silver and five bronze was crowned as the overall champion in the adult category

Second place went to Belait District with four gold and six bronze. While The Royal Brunei Police Force took third spot with three gold, one silver and three bronze.

In the Teenager category, Belait district became the overall champion with four gold, three silver and four bronze.

Brunei-Muara District placed third place with two gold, one silver and four bronze.

The award for best Female Pencak Silat athlete went to Rohana binti Md Razali of Belait District.

The award for Best Male Pencak Silat athlete went to Ak Wafiuddin bin Pg Umar of MS ABDB.

Belait's Norlyermah binti Hj Raya won against Siti Qadihaj Binti Jefery of MS ABDB to capture the women's Kuntau title.

Rohana Binti Md Razali of Belait beat Nurizza Binti Hj Tasrif of MS ABDB in female category A.

Belait's Siti shazareena Hanifah easily overcame Siti Qadijah binti Jefery of MS ABDB to win the female category B.

In the men's category, Hj Julaihi bin Hj Junaidi of Belait won the Cekak category after defeating Hj Md Faiez Hj Salleh of Ms Penjara.

In the Kuntau category, Sport School Council's Ak Md Khairul Azim Pg Mohammad won over Khairul Bahrin bin Hj Duraman of MS ABDB to take the title.

The guest of honour who presented the prizes was Pengiran Jaya Indera Pg Hj Mohtar Puteh bin Pg Hj Rajid.

No comments: